top of page
  • Writer's pictureSoliel De Bella

March author spotlight presents J.A. Lafrance




Author J.A. Lafrance our March spotlight




Interview with J.A. Lafrance

S. - What is the first book that made you cry?

J.- Chub Rub by Shannon Youngblood, this book had me crying like a baby.

S.- What are common traps for aspiring writers?

J.- I Find that some not all publishers have an agenda that is not benifical for aspiring authors.


S.- Does a big ego help or hurt writers?

J.- Hurts you big time! To be in the public’s eye you need to check your ego at the door.


S.- Do you try more to be original or to deliver to readers what they want?

J.- I try to be original in everything. For me standing out is something I strive for.


S.- What other authors are you friends with, and how do they help you become a better writer?

J.- I have so many amazing people that are authors on my list, each have taught me to be me, to stay true to my work.


S.- Do you want each book to stand on its own, or are you trying to build a body of work with connections between each book?

J.- I want each book to stand on it’s own, I love when readers pick who their favourite characters are.


S.- How many unpublished and half-finished books do you have?

J.- I have 6 WIP on the go all waiting to be finished.


S.- How many hours a day do you write?

J. - Depends on how motivated I am.


S.- How do you select the names of your characters?

J.- I like to go with old fashioned names just spelt differently.


S.- If you didn’t write, what would you do for work?

J. -I am actually an Eductional Assistant working with children and young adults who have special needs.


S.- Do you read your book reviews? How do you deal with bad or good ones?

J.- This is a practice I don’t normally do. Reviews are great and they are that persons opinion on my work. I’d love everyone to form their own opinions before following a leader.


S.- What was your hardest scene to write?

J.- I wrote a rape scene in From The Darkness that took me 4 tries to write


S.- Do you Google yourself?

J.- Yes


S.- What is your favorite childhood book?

J.- Tales of a fourth grade nothing by Judy Blume


S.- How long on average does it take you to write a book?

J.- Anywhere from 3months to a year.


S.- Do you believe in writer’s block?

J. -100% but I have short stories that help me fight it.


Thank you for joining us today J.A. Lafrance, and letting us get to know you a bit better.

Much love from us, and all of your fans!








Are you stalking me?

Readers Group



Not only is J.A Lafrance an author herself but one hell of a personal assistant to many other authors, including myself. Where does she find the time? we aren't sure. But, if you are need of assistance, she may be able to juggle your routine along with her own. Please contact the author for assistance.



AUTHOR BIO:

JA resides in Northern Ontario Canada but is originally from the Capital of Ontario. She is a married to her loving husband and has three beautiful children. When she is not locked in her writing cave she works with the board of education as a supply Educational Assistant. She loves watching hockey and Soccer and enjoys talking to the many people she has made friends with. She enjoys a good joke and can usually be seen with a smile on her face and a joke on her lips.





22 views0 comments
bottom of page